Cathedral of Our Lady of Peace, San Miguel
The warm San Miguel department is an area of great architectural and historical wealth. The cathedral is the most representative of this temple city popularly known as the "Pearl of the Orient".
Its official name is Shrine Basilica Cathedral "Our Lady of Peace", place where thousands of faithful Catholics honor him the patron saint of the Republic of El Salvador, so declared by Pope Paul VI on 10 October 1966.
Review of construction
Currently is located at the same site occupied by the former Church of St. Michael the Archangel, in front of the square of "San Miguel de la Frontera", now known as the Parque Guzman.
According to Church documents, colonial chapel was built in the mid-sixteenth century, shortly after the founding of the city by Don Luis de Moscoso, dated 8 May 1530.
After the appearance of the image of Our Lady of Peace in 1682 and deterioration that already had the sanctuary, Church authorities decided to build a larger temple oratory serve as veneration of the Virgin.
History indicates that the 21 November 1862, the General Gerardo Barrios, President of El Salvador, laid the foundation stone of the temple. He says he had the desire to give a new look to the city stately San Miguel, in order to move east, the capital.
Adela Barrios Guzmán, first lady of the nation, undertook to find the architect who would design the building. FUE El Ingeniero William Kirk, an Englishman, who began the work. However, Barrios after death, the foreman had to leave the country for political reasons, when just only the crypt was built and some foundations.
The main material used was popularly volcanic stone called "badlands" or "curruncha", mixed with sand and cement. They say that the faithful used to load them from the slopes of Volcano Chaparrastique, and organizing the famous processions known as "Malpais and Arena Tickets", which subsequently gave rise to the "Inputs of the Queen of Peace" held today.
With the passage of time and the work unfinished, the iconic cathedral temple rose to Papal decree of Pius X, the 11 February 1913.
The 21 November 1921, Monsignor Dueñas and Argumedo, on behalf of Pope Benedict XV proclaimed the Patronage of Our Lady of Peace and gave papal coronation of the image.
In 1926 were hired Belgian metals company to manufacture the steel structure of the roof and false ceiling. Later, placement of these materials was made by Filipino engineer Alberto Gheraldo, who began the construction of the bell tower and the placement of the tile made in the city of Brussels.
Years later he signed a contract with a German stained glass factory, which are located in the side chapels of the presbytery and in the eastern part of the nave of the cathedral. The windows corresponding to the main facade, west and south side were manufactured in Mexico. Each is a colorful biblical catechesis different episodes.
Notably, the altar is Italian marble and serves altar where the image is enthroned Queen of Peace.
The work was officially completed in the year of 1962. It opened 21 November as part of the festivities at the "Queen of Peace".
This magnificent temple accommodates 2 thousand people and is considered the second largest Catholic church in the country.
The origin and devotion to Our Lady of Peace
The story tells that some merchants found a sealed wooden box on the shores of the Gulf of Fonseca, department of La Union, between 12 and 14 November 1682.
Not knowing what was in his inner, loaded the box into the back of a donkey to the then Village of San Miguel, which was one hundred year anniversary.
The story has it that arrived in Central Square, Guzman Park today, day 21 November. The animal mysteriously began to land front in this place which also was located the old parish church.
The locals proceeded to open the box immediately and found that it was a stunning image of the Virgin Mary with a baby Jesus in her arms; nobody knew what name was.
That was a time of many revolts by the indigenous, mulatto, ladino and mestizo population and, with the arrival of this lovely image, miraculously disappeared. This is the main reason it was called "Our Lady of Peace".
Other events that occurred and increased devotion to the Virgin Mary under her title of "Queen of Peace" are:
- The 21 September 1787 Chaparrastique volcano erupted. The path of the lava threatened to reach the town of San Miguel.
Locals in their trouble the church decided to take the image of the Virgin in the front door asking for their protection prayers. It is said that once the lava took Southbound.
After this miracle, in the sky formed a palm-shaped cloud above the crater of the volcano. This detail was natural to represent the miracle motif and placed a palm on the right hand of the Virgin of Peace.
- The 2 June 1903, lightning struck the cupola of San Francisco Parish Church, where once the image was kept.
The story goes that the sparks generated a great fire and completely burned the dressing room and the dress of the Virgin. Image, despite having been blackened by smoke, suffered no major damage and remained intact; This event strengthened even more Catholic veneration of the time.
Address: 4Fifth Avenue North and 4th Street East, across from Central Park Guzman, San Miguel.
If you drive from San Salvador to San Miguel will travel the Pan-American Highway (CA-1). You can do it from the Carretera El Litoral (beach area) or diversion either San Martín proceeding to Resume which is the same route alternative to reach the department of Usulutan and San Vicente. From San Salvador to San Miguel are 2 hours 30 minutes approximately.
- San Salvador - San Miguel: Route 301 from the East Terminal.
Normal $2.50 USD
Special $3.00 USD
Super Special $5.00 USD
Note: In San Salvador can reach the East Terminal with Route 42-A, 34, 140, 29 by $0.25 USD the cost of passage.
- Normal $0.75 USDLA Union - San Miguel: Route 324
Special $1.00 USD
Phone: (503) 2661-1979
Height 764 feet
NOTICEThe information presented in this Promotion Listing Services and destinations of El Salvador is a reference guide. Prices, rates, promotions or details such as the number of people, opening hours, input or output times, meal times, Cymbal ingredients, duration of tours, Sites on tour etc.. and phone numbers, websites or email addresses and physical, and other data can change without prior notice of the hotels, restaurants, Tour operators, inns and other businesses in the tourism industry in this digital catalog. The Ministry of Tourism and the Salvadoran Tourism Coorporación, and its advertising agency and any other company or individual subcontracted for lifting and collection of this information has no responsibility for any variation in the data. It is always suggested to respective queries to verify.